The Sentinel (Abraham’s Song)

I am the sentinel that has waited for the dawn.
From the darkness of night
to the golden burst of day,
standing in the silence,
my life has unfolded,
my heart unraveled,
opened,
and given away to You.

Here in the darkness
in the cold of early morning,
watching the colors rise,
one more beautiful and brighter,
richer, than the next,
each one speaking a new thought
a new truth,
of You, of me.

It is in this new light that
You have given me
what I thought I had offered up:
the joy of my heart
and the depth of my soul.
You have spoken life into it
and made it Yours.

It is in this new covenant
that You have given me everything,
and what’s mine is Yours,
and my song is too full,
so I will just say…
that I will remember the stars…
and how you led me through the night
to this day.

2 thoughts on “The Sentinel (Abraham’s Song)

Leave a Reply

