Unattached

You let me go and I could feel myself falling from your hand,

fluttering and floating in the wind.

Your grasp was full of freedom when I slipped out

and let the currents direct my path.

You were unattached.

 

 

But I’m not sure that you were free.

Detached and separated, segmented

when I met you next-

Your eyes wouldn’t show anything of you.

You hid yourself from me,

 

and I wondered if you had become detached from

a part of yourself too.

 

Now I see hands that have forgotten how to hold

and a heart that can’t let love out

and live out

what’s held dear inside of you.

 

My friend, I’m sorry if letting go of me

robbed you of the chance to know how to love

freely.

Leave a Reply

