Unattached 2

you let me go and I could feel myself falling from your hand,
fluttering and floating in the wind.
your grasp was full of freedom when I slipped out
and let the currents direct my path.
you were unattached.

and it took a while to find
that I could try to learn how to fly
instead of being buffeted and blown about.
and now that my wings are stronger and the open air calls my name,
I don’t mind that you couldn’t keep me in held tight.

but with every updraft and thermal
that speeds me on to new sights,
I’m still looking for a place to land and perch my feet,
hoping to find your arm held out.

Leave a Reply

