If Today

You will be my shield, my rock, my refuge
–no need to harden my own heart
to hide in,
for there I only shrink in isolation, suffocating
until I press up against the walls holding me in.

It is You who can lead me out
by pathways unknown,
away from the worn and dusty roads I travel
again and again,
where I only find the desolate and deserted places,
the empty castles that I have built
stone upon stone.

But when my strength and hiding place is in you,
when your voice is the shield that surrounds me,
and you stop my hand from placing another stone
by grasping it in yours,
I can see clearly
enough to fight to follow You,
stopping the worst of myself
that keeps me from loving.

Leave a Reply

