Why are you terrified? Do you not yet have faith?

Back then, at the beginning of things,
we were all just too wide eyed with amazement
to really grasp what he was trying to teach us.

Now I would tell a younger me
that just because he was with you
did not mean that he would not deliberately
take your boat into seas
where a storm waited out of sight

And where I would have fled before
or looked for a way to calm the waves,
today a wiser me is content
to let him steer this ship
into the squall,
knowing that with him I will not perish.

Leave a Reply

